latest laguna flier1976 Tyrell P34 six wheeler

Making it FASTER is the culmination of 40 years of knowledge and experience from Dan Binks, crew chief extraordinaire, and Norm DeWitt, fellow San Diegan and former racer/journalist/author.  The result is to bring Dan’s incredible wealth of experience, tricks, and tales from 4 decades racing at the highest levels and combine it with Norm’s racing and fabrication experience along with access to legendary racers of the past 6 decades.  Foreword by Tommy Kendall, the driver most associated with Dan Binks for their success with a number of race teams.

2010 McLaren F1 nose and wingHall in the 2E at Rainey curve vertical shot

I would like to thank the many racers who helped to explain how technological advances were made, during the struggle to find any advantage.  Thanks to Phil and Marge Binks, Sir Jackie Stewart, Sir Stirling Moss, Mario Andretti, Phil Hill, Dan Gurney, A.J. Foyt, Chris Amon, John Fitch, Rick Mears, Parnelli Jones, Joe Leonard, Bobby Unser, Bob Bondurant, Dick Guldstrand, Roger Penske, Jim Rathmann, Jean Alesi, Emanuele Pirro, Tony Adamowicz, Stuart Graham, Jack Baldwin, Greg Biffle, Tommy Kendall, Wayne Taylor, Paul Gentilozzi, Allan McNish, David Murray, Scott Dixon, Marino Franchitti, Geoff Brabham, John Morton, Marc Lieb, Wolf Henzler, Timo Bernhard, Jan Magnussen, Brian Redman, Vic Elford, Jackie Oliver,  Mike Rahal, Anthony Davidson, Takuma Sato, Rubens Barrichello, Justin Wilson, Tony Kannan, Oriol Servia, Sebastian Bourdais, Simon Pagenaud,  Bryan Clauson, Don Garlits, and others.

The business end 2007 vertLaguna Corkscrew 2010 cropped down

This book could not have been written without support from those on the technical or manufacturing side, ie: engineers, crew chiefs, manufacturers, and historians.  Special thanks to Gordon Kimball, Trevor Harris, Gian Paolo Dallara, Andrea Vecchi (Dallara), Jack Roush, Ron Tauranac, Ken Anderson, Craig Hampson, Don Devendorf, Andrew Smith (“H”), Ray Evernham, Ben Bowlby, Simon Marshall, Bob Liebeck, Rob Dyson, Jim Campbell, Rick Mayer (Risi) and Andrew Heard of Xtrac.   Ulrich Baretzky, Wolfgang Ulrich, and Martin Muehlmeier of Audi Sport.  Hisatake Murata (P1 Toyota Hybrid), Brembo – Michael Messina & Mauro Piccoli, Derrick Walker, Paul Butler, and Donald Davidson of IMS… all of whom put up with my endless questions.

Mario Andretti in the Jimmy Murphy 1921 French GP winning DuesenbergAudi R10 V12 diesel cropped vertical

One has to include tales from motorcycle racing at the highest levels as well, as nobody gets as much accomplished per square inch of  contact patch as these racers do.    Thanks to Jeremy Burgess, Al Ludington, Davide Tardozzi, Stuart Shenton, Michael Czysz, Tom Houseworth, Massimo Meregalli, Jorge Lorenzo, Valentino Rossi, Nicky Hayden, Wayne Gardner, Troy Corser, Nobby Clark, Philippe DeLespinay, Rod Coleman,  Gene Romero, Kenny Roberts, and Wayne Rainey.          Norm DeWitt

The Previous Book – Grand Prix Motorcycle Racers

hi res mc gp racers cover

The previous book, is available in Kindle or book form from, available in Nook or book form from Barnes & Noble, or from the publisher  Foreword by Alan Cathcart, published 2010.   Selected by Autoweek magazine for their 2010 holiday gift guide (one of 16 books selected that year, only 3 motorcycle based), see the review with Jay Leno at

Also was a guest on the Adam Carolla show/podcast to discuss various aspects of car racing history and technology.

Copy of Roger Penske 2008 Indy 5002J fan small